Team, individual award winners announced
Date of Event : Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:30AM
SA Country's Ben Pengelley won the men's Player of the Championships award // Nick Duxson

Queensland Country and East Asia-Pacific are the 2017 Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships title-holders, after winning their respective men’s and women’s matches on the final day of the tournament in Wollongong.


The team and individual award winners were announced last night, following the final day’s play.


QLD Country entered their final-round game against South Australia Country on top of the men’s table, with four teams still in the hunt to claim the title.


They secured a comfortable six-wicket win to seal the overall title, to go with the inaugural men’s T20 title which they secured earlier in the championships.


New South Wales Country held on to win the men’s one-day title by defeating East Asia-Pacific on the final day.


In the women's division, East Asia-Pacific won the tournament final by eight wickets over Victoria Country, securing back-to-back women’s championships.


East Asia-Pacific’s Norma Ovasuru (42 not out) and captain Pauke Siaka (41 not out) led their side to victory with an unbroken 98-run stand to chase down VIC Country’s total of 99.


In the individual awards, SA Country’s Ben Pengelley and NSW Country’s Rebecca Cady were the big winners, claiming the Player of the Championships award in the men’s and women’s division respectively.


Pengelley – a South Australian under-19s representative – also won the Don Bradman batting award.


An Australian Country XII was named for both the men’s and women’s division.


QLD Country captain Tony Hampson was named captain of the men’s Australian Country XII, while East Asia-Pacific captain Pauke Siaka (from PNG) was named captain of the women’s Australian Country XII.


There were two inductees into the Australian Country Cricket Championships Hall of Fame, Rod Johnston and Gary Madsen.


For fixtures, results, ladders and statistics from the 2017 Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships, head to


Men’s division awards


Overall champions: QLD Country

One-day title: NSW Country

T20 title: QLD Country


Player of the Championships: Ben Pengelley (SA Country) – 30 points

Don Bradman batting award: Ben Pengelley (SA Country) – 349 runs at 48.86

Bill O’Reilly bowling award: Tom Mathieson (VIC Country) – 20 wickets at 12.80

Doug Walters fielding award: Joe Brown (SA Country)

Ian Healy wicket-keeping award: Tony Hampson (QLD Country)

Spirit of Cricket: East Asia-Pacific


Australian Country XII: Nathan Walsh (VIC), Jordan Moran (NSW), Michael Allen (VIC), Ben Pengelley (SA), Jono Whitney (WA), James Spargo (QLD), Pat Darwen (NSW), Julian Crudeli (WA), Tony Hampson (QLD, wk, capt), Sam Winton (QLD), Tom Mathieson (VIC), Ben Boyd (VIC). Coach: Lenny Martin (QLD). Manager: Shane Turner (QLD).


Women’s division awards


Overall champions: East Asia-Pacific


Player of the Championships: Rebecca Cady (NSW Country) – 16 points

Batting award: Brittany Perry (SA Country) – 228 runs at 76

Bowling award: Cara Fiebig (SA Country) – 13 wickets, incl. a hat-trick

Fielding award: Hannah Clarke (QLD Country)

Wicket-keeping award: Jordan Doecke (SA Country)

Spirit of Cricket: SA Country


Australian Country XII: Brittany Perry (SA), Julie Page (NT), Stephanie Townsend (VIC), Lisa Griffith (NSW), Norma Ovasuru (EAP), Pauke Siaka (EAP, capt), Rebecca Cady (NSW, wk), Chelsea Moscript (VIC), Cara Fiebig (SA), Konio Oala (PNG), Sharni Tansell (SA), Eliza Flynn (QLD). Coaches: Eddie Mansale and Bebe Miyaji (EAP). Manager: Jane Livesey (EAP).


Hall of Fame inductees

Rod Johnston (SA Country)

Gary Madsen (QLD Country)

Last updated: Wednesday December 13, 2017 8:31AM